V8 CM 09 Mod Contest Worklog

All about overclocking and modding techniques, how-to's and worklogs.

Moderator: CM Moderator

V8 CM 09 Mod Contest Worklog

Postby bigbazz on Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:43 am

Welcome to my first mod :D
I have built half a dozen pcs prior to this but this is my first attempt at modding and watercooling and it has quickly grown on me.
The theme for my mod is a V8 engine. I started work on it a couple of months ago and came across this contest whilst browsing the site and I thought I'd share my worklog :D It is a little scattered and all over the but Ill try and catagorise each major part.

Hardware
Case - CoolerMaster CM 690
CPU - Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard - Gigabyte GA-EX58-EXTREME
Memory - OCZ 3x2gb 1600mhz
GPU - Gigabyte NVidia 260GTX 216
Power - Corsair HX-1000

Apologies for some of the poor image qualities

Alright ill start with one of the smaller mods.
My friend mr OCZ met with flat head screwdriver
And got a facelift
And the remains of the old heatspeader

Modding my graphics card was a little more challenging
I had an idea that graphics cards should have a window and a little more bling lighting
The Patient
And now my first major problem arose...
Unfortunately the heatsink I had purchased suited the old 260GTX and not the new one and due to the board design change a row of capacitors prevented the heatsink making contact so heatsink met with my friend mr dremel.
Voila we have a perfect fit now :D
I then cut out a spot for the window and for the tubing
A part off the old heatsink was cut so that I could reattach the orignal cover to the board
The underside of the completed cover. The left side has a new 70mm fan and the chunk of heatsink. The right has another couple of bits of the heatsink as well as a couple of LEDs
The final card all tubed up ready to go
Card with bling turned on
And close up

Case Dismantling